Opinion

shadow

Browse this collection of opinion pieces from various global information sources, and gain an insight into how people from all walks of life are thinking about, and acting upon, animal issues.

The views expressed in these opinion pieces do not necessarily reflect the views of Animals Australia.


Never mind CCTV in slaugherhouses, we need to end the meat and dairy industry altogether
By YAS NECATI on AUG 14, 2017

It isn’t just horrific for the animals, producing meat also has a huge effect on the environment and health consequences to humans – even vegans. Read more

Land clearing isn’t just about trees - it’s an animal welfare issue too
By HUGH FINN - LECTURER, CURTIN UNIVERSITY on JUL 5, 2017

Land clearing harms animals in two basic ways. First, they may be killed or injured when native vegetation is removed, typically through the use of earth-moving machinery. Second, the removal of native vegetation puts animals in harm’s way. Read more

Chickens suffer just as Bali’s dogs do
By ASHLEY FRUNO on JUN 20, 2017

AUSTRALIANS are entitled to be angry and disgusted by reports that tourists in Bali are routinely being fed dog meat. Read more

Barack Obama on food and climate change: ‘We can still act and it won’t be too late’
Barack Obama on food and climate change: ‘We can still act and it won’t be too late’
By BARACK OBAMA on JUN 7, 2017

The former president addresses the greatest challenges facing the world, and what we can do about them. Read more

Why vegan is the fastest growing food movement in the world
Why vegan is the fastest growing food movement in the world
By MATT PRESTON, DELICIOUS on MAY 28, 2017

As the latest global food trend, plant-based dining is being taken very serious by chefs around the world. Read more

Health Leaders Must Focus on the Threats From Factory Farms
Health Leaders Must Focus on the Threats From Factory Farms
By SCOTT WEATHERS, SOPHIE HERMANNS AND MARK BITTMAN on MAY 21, 2017

This week, the World Health Organization — which works globally to improve human health — will meet in Geneva to select a new director general. We have a mission for that leader: take on factory farms, a major threat to health and the environment. Read more

Why meat eaters should think much more about soil
By JOHN SAUVEN on MAY 17, 2017

If over-grazing continues to cause soil degradation, we won’t be able to feed people in the future. Read more

Dairy is scary. The public are waking up to the darkest part of farming
Dairy is scary. The public are waking up to the darkest part of farming
By CHAS NEWKEY-BURDEN on MAR 30, 2017

The photo of calves in cramped pens will shock many, and with so many non-dairy alternatives now, consumers have a choice. Read more

Cruelty for your entertainment and their profit: Don
Cruelty for your entertainment and their profit: Don't buy into it
By JORDAN SOSNOWSKI on FEB 23, 2017

Australia’s two remaining marine parks make money from the suffering of innocent animals. Read more

Ringling Bros. Circus shutdown is a distraction from the real issue: Eating animals
By GARY L. FRANCIONE & ANNA CHARLTON on FEB 3, 2017

Ringling’s owners made a business decision that had nothing to do with what animal advocates said or did. Instead, executives made it clear the shows the circus produced were not viable as a business model. And closing the circus does nothing to change our institutions of animal use – most importantly, the fact that we eat animals. As scholars of animals rights and advocates for veganism as a moral imperative, we do not view it as a victory. Read more

Poultry industry plays chicken with consumers
By MATTHEW PRESCOTT on FEB 1, 2017

The chicken industry seems to have its head buried in the sand. Read more

Free range is a con. There’s no such thing as an ethical egg.
By CHAS NEWKEY-BURDEN on JAN 30, 2017

Slapping ‘free range’ on a box of eggs simply hides the catalogue of routine horrors that are allowed under this reassuring banner. Read more

I gave up dairy for 3 months, and it completely transformed my body
I gave up dairy for 3 months, and it completely transformed my body
On JAN 27, 2017

What happens to your body when you ditch the dairy. Read more

This technology is about to smash through every factory farm
This technology is about to smash through every factory farm's closed doors
By WAYNE HSIUNG on JAN 19, 2017

The goal of activists and storytellers since time immemorial has been to put ordinary people in another person’s shoes. Read more

"I quit fishing after an encounter off Perth made me realise I was an arsehole"
"I quit fishing after an encounter off Perth made me realise I was an arsehole"
By DAN MAIO on JAN 15, 2017

I used to trick animals on to sharpened hooks. Sometimes, I’d use two or three just to make sure they couldn’t get away. Read more

An experiment with no meat, no dairy, no eggs
By DUNCAN FINE on JAN 12, 2017

Recently, a friend of mine convinced me to go vegan for a month. Read more

Why you should turn vegan in 2017
Why you should turn vegan in 2017
By HEATHER MOORE on JAN 10, 2017

It's time for a vegan revolution. I mean, resolution. Read more

The will of the people, or the party?
By ELIZABETH ELLIS on OCT 24, 2016

From greyhound racing to free-range chickens and concerns over the live animal trade, public opinion in Australia supports increased animal welfare measures. So why isn’t that translating into policy decisions? Read more

Greyhound backlash misses the point: horrific cruelty means a ban is the only choice
Greyhound backlash misses the point: horrific cruelty means a ban is the only choice
By MEHREEN FARUQI on OCT 10, 2016

In almost all media reporting on the greyhound racing ban in NSW, and social media for that matter, the discussion quickly drifts away from the horrific treatment of greyhounds to almost any other issue. Read more

Judging Compassion: the criminal trial of Toronto Pig Save
Judging Compassion: the criminal trial of Toronto Pig Save's Anita Krajnc
By ELIZABETH ABBOTT on OCT 7, 2016

Twice, I have joined Toronto Pig Save, holding out my water bottle and crooning through tears the mantra that encapsulates our mission as well as our despair: "We see you. We're trying. We're sorry. We love you." Read more


 
Make a difference for animals...

www.animalsaustralia.org