Opinion

shadow

Browse this collection of opinion pieces from various global information sources, and gain an insight into how people from all walks of life are thinking about, and acting upon, animal issues.

The views expressed in these opinion pieces do not necessarily reflect the views of Animals Australia.


Dairy is scary. The public are waking up to the darkest part of farming
Dairy is scary. The public are waking up to the darkest part of farming
By CHAS NEWKEY-BURDEN on MAR 30, 2017

The photo of calves in cramped pens will shock many, and with so many non-dairy alternatives now, consumers have a choice. Read more

Cruelty for your entertainment and their profit: Don
Cruelty for your entertainment and their profit: Don't buy into it
By JORDAN SOSNOWSKI on FEB 23, 2017

Australia’s two remaining marine parks make money from the suffering of innocent animals. Read more

Ringling Bros. Circus shutdown is a distraction from the real issue: Eating animals
By GARY L. FRANCIONE & ANNA CHARLTON on FEB 3, 2017

Ringling’s owners made a business decision that had nothing to do with what animal advocates said or did. Instead, executives made it clear the shows the circus produced were not viable as a business model. And closing the circus does nothing to change our institutions of animal use – most importantly, the fact that we eat animals. As scholars of animals rights and advocates for veganism as a moral imperative, we do not view it as a victory. Read more

Poultry industry plays chicken with consumers
By MATTHEW PRESCOTT on FEB 1, 2017

The chicken industry seems to have its head buried in the sand. Read more

Free range is a con. There’s no such thing as an ethical egg.
By CHAS NEWKEY-BURDEN on JAN 30, 2017

Slapping ‘free range’ on a box of eggs simply hides the catalogue of routine horrors that are allowed under this reassuring banner. Read more

I gave up dairy for 3 months, and it completely transformed my body
I gave up dairy for 3 months, and it completely transformed my body
On JAN 27, 2017

What happens to your body when you ditch the dairy. Read more

This technology is about to smash through every factory farm
This technology is about to smash through every factory farm's closed doors
By WAYNE HSIUNG on JAN 19, 2017

The goal of activists and storytellers since time immemorial has been to put ordinary people in another person’s shoes. Read more

"I quit fishing after an encounter off Perth made me realise I was an arsehole"
"I quit fishing after an encounter off Perth made me realise I was an arsehole"
By DAN MAIO on JAN 15, 2017

I used to trick animals on to sharpened hooks. Sometimes, I’d use two or three just to make sure they couldn’t get away. Read more

An experiment with no meat, no dairy, no eggs
By DUNCAN FINE on JAN 12, 2017

Recently, a friend of mine convinced me to go vegan for a month. Read more

Why you should turn vegan in 2017
Why you should turn vegan in 2017
By HEATHER MOORE on JAN 10, 2017

It's time for a vegan revolution. I mean, resolution. Read more

The will of the people, or the party?
By ELIZABETH ELLIS on OCT 24, 2016

From greyhound racing to free-range chickens and concerns over the live animal trade, public opinion in Australia supports increased animal welfare measures. So why isn’t that translating into policy decisions? Read more

Greyhound backlash misses the point: horrific cruelty means a ban is the only choice
Greyhound backlash misses the point: horrific cruelty means a ban is the only choice
By MEHREEN FARUQI on OCT 10, 2016

In almost all media reporting on the greyhound racing ban in NSW, and social media for that matter, the discussion quickly drifts away from the horrific treatment of greyhounds to almost any other issue. Read more

Judging Compassion: the criminal trial of Toronto Pig Save
Judging Compassion: the criminal trial of Toronto Pig Save's Anita Krajnc
By ELIZABETH ABBOTT on OCT 7, 2016

Twice, I have joined Toronto Pig Save, holding out my water bottle and crooning through tears the mantra that encapsulates our mission as well as our despair: "We see you. We're trying. We're sorry. We love you." Read more

Denials, Cover-ups And A Lack Of Transparency Killed Greyhound Racing In NSW
By PAUL NEWSON on SEP 2, 2016

Even a capable regulator couldn't save the dogs. Read more

Failure to protect
By GARY HUMPHRIES & JED GOODFELLOW on AUG 24, 2016

Despite regular media exposés of appalling cruelty towards exported live animals, the Australian Government’s response remains woefully inadequate and beset by a conflict of regulatory responsibilities, Gary Humphries and Jed Goodfellow write. Read more

My father loved racing greyhounds. He stopped because of the 'dirty business'
By DEIDRE WICKS on JUL 15, 2016

Many greyhound racers love their dogs. But the industry has a rotten core, based on cruelty, neglect and premature death Read more

Seven ways fishing trawlers aren’t great for the seabed
By CARL SAFINA on JUL 6, 2016

Shrinking sea ice and warming ocean water is moving fish farther north, and fishing vessels are coming with them. These are big trawling ships, and in other regions trawl-fishing has harmed -- in some cases ruined -- vast areas of seafloor. Read more

Australia knowingly trades in animal cruelty: former live export ship vet
Australia knowingly trades in animal cruelty: former live export ship vet
On JUN 29, 2016

The conditions on Australia's live export ships are appalling and cruel, and the Department of Agriculture has done nothing, writes Dr Lynn Simpson, a veterinarian on live export ships who was removed from her post for exposing horrific conditions. Should we trust Australia’s Department of Agriculture to regulate live export? Read more

We condemn China's dog eating, but ignore calf cruelty
By LYNLEY TULLOCH on JUN 28, 2016

The idea that some species matter more than others, and that animals are 'beneath us' are cultural ideologies only. Read more

Live exports and offshore detention: the lie that diminishes us all
By PETER MARTIN, ECONOMICS EDITOR, THE AGE on JUN 23, 2016

Who are we? We tell ourselves we are compassionate. We've rules for determining how long anyone can be in prison, rules prohibiting cruelty to animals. We even begin parliamentary sittings with the Lord's Prayer: "Forgive us our trespasses ... deliver us from evil". Yet we send people and animals to torture and death overseas with scarcely a second thought. Read more


 
Make a difference for animals...

www.animalsaustralia.org