Opinion

shadow

Browse this collection of opinion pieces from various global information sources, and gain an insight into how people from all walks of life are thinking about, and acting upon, animal issues.

The views expressed in these opinion pieces do not necessarily reflect the views of Animals Australia.


Veganuary: I was dreading giving up meat - now I can’t find a reason to eat it
By IOAN MARC JONES on JAN 30, 2016

This New Year, like every New Year, I set myself three resolutions that I planned to fail in. Read more

Activists make bold bid to break animal law out of the cage
Activists make bold bid to break animal law out of the cage
By ELISE BURGESS on JAN 29, 2016

This week, the Sundance Film Festival will screen Unlocking the Cage, a documentary that follows the Nonhuman Rights Project's unprecedented challenge to break down the legal wall that separates animals from humans. Read more

The
The 'Minister for Cruelty' could be Australia's next Deputy Prime Minister
By JORDAN SOSNOWSKI on JAN 13, 2016

Barnaby Joyce is still trying to climb the greasy pole… while he ignores animal suffering in his own portfolio. Read more

Why I'm proud to be a vegan
By JORDAN LEES on JAN 13, 2016

Vegans are often ridiculed, abused and written off as self-righteous extremists who like nothing more than to push their "beliefs" upon others. However, I wonder how many vegan-haters have actually stopped to consider the concept of veganism objectively, removing the emotional connection to their "entitlement" to have a personal choice to exploit animals? Read more

Veganism is one step closer to becoming a human right in Ontario
By CAMILLE LABCHUK on JAN 12, 2016

Does your worldview include a deep respect for animals and their rights? Do you choose to opt out of using and consuming animal products for ethical reasons? Are you vegetarian or vegan for ethical reasons? If you answered "Yes" to any of these questions... Read more

Americans need to speak out against declawing
By DENNIS TURNER on DEC 21, 2015

The bill to make New York the first state to ban cat declawing, indicates to me that there are indeed some Americans who put the interests of the animals above those of their owners. Read more

At least Barnaby Joyce is consistent when it comes to his cruelty to dogs.
By JORDAN SOSNOWSKI on DEC 19, 2015

With a simple amendment to legislation, Barnaby Joyce could end the cruelty inflicted on hundreds of Australian greyhounds every year. Instead, he does nothing. Read more

Vegan signs dominate climate marches
On DEC 8, 2015

With a message that animal agriculture is destroying the planet, vegans were out in full force at climate marches this weekend. Marches were held around the world in advance of the United Nations Climate Change Summit in Paris. Read more

Into the mainstream: why society is embracing vegetarianism
By VERONIKA NAGY on DEC 1, 2015

Vegetarianism and veganism are becoming increasingly common amongst our generation. With recent announcements by the World Health Organisation, the huge media flurry around vegan YouTuber Essena O’Neil, and World Vegan Day all being covered by the mass media, the transition of this issue from the fringe into popular culture can be observed. Read more

Eating less meat will save the planet... so why won't people do it?
On DEC 1, 2015

This weekend saw the biggest climate change march yet - London topped the global numbers, with a massive 50,000 campaigners taking to the capital's streets. A heartening number marched in the vegan bloc - showing a swelling number are starting to make the correlation between animal agriculture and the environment. Read more

The cruel lies we buy on Thanksgiving
On NOV 24, 2015

On Monday, a turkey will board a flight from San Francisco to Washington to be pardoned by President Obama on Thanksgiving. Don't call him lucky though. Read more

Eating bacon can kill you. Here’s how my kid eats a plant-based diet.
By MIRIAM PORTER on NOV 9, 2015

What do hot dogs and bacon have in common with cigarettes, arsenic and asbestos? Well, according to a recent report by the World Health Organization they have one main thing in common – they are all carcinogenic and can kill you. Read more

Yes, I hate the Cup — and for damn good reason
By BERNARD KEANE on NOV 3, 2015

The horseracing industry is cruel, exploitative, unsafe and reliant on organised crime and rentseeking. It shouldn’t be celebrated. Read more

Forget cancer: the worst thing about bacon is that it used to be a pig
By PAUL SHEEHAN on OCT 28, 2015

It's no surprise that processed meat can cause cancer. But what we need to hear about is the process of where our meat comes from. Read more

Are we the cruellest we've ever been? The way we treat animals suggests we are
By JORDAN SOSNOWSKI on OCT 19, 2015

The worst part is that animal suffering is largely avoidable - we're just too selfish to change our ways. Read more

Are oysters vegan?
By EDWARD SCOTT on OCT 16, 2015

The simple, somewhat lazy answer is no – by definition, oysters aren’t vegan, as they’re taxonomically classed as animals. But wait a minute! Hold your seahorses! Before you close this tab in a fit of disgust at having had your time wasted, let’s look at this issue a bit further. Read more

Everyone has a ‘sacred cow’: Horse slaughter banned in US
Everyone has a ‘sacred cow’: Horse slaughter banned in US
On OCT 10, 2015

A man looks at a decapitated horse, an art piece by Chinese artist Huang Yong Ping. Horse slaughter is effectively banned in the US through a convoluted budget tactic while two bills are pending before the US Congress to make it permanent. Read more

Eating vegan saves 'The Martian' - and us?
By VANCE LEHMKUHL on OCT 5, 2015

We almost don't notice that "The Martian" survives as a composting vegan who lives on organic produce, solar panels and EVs. Scott's point, I think, is not to show that man can survive on Mars, but that we can survive on Earth. Read more

Is Abandoning a Pet a Crime?
Is Abandoning a Pet a Crime?
By NATALIA LIMA on SEP 20, 2015

Snowflake never saw it coming. She was a 3-month-old Maltese puppy, fluffy, white and adorable. She had a home, her life was just getting started, and then she broke her leg. It should have been a quick fix but her owner didn’t see it that way. Read more

Do you ever get over the death of a dog?
Do you ever get over the death of a dog?
By RICHARD GLOVER on SEP 12, 2015

Every dog has lessons to teach. They are experts, of course, in demanding love. Humans, quite often, seem to doubt whether they are worthy of love, but dogs have no such uncertainties. Read more

Put the cameras in farms, not outside
By SAM DE BRITO on AUG 26, 2015

It might surprise to you that in June this year alone, almost four million cows, sheep and pigs were slaughtered in Australia for food according to ABS figures - a number dwarfed by the almost 50 million chickens this country kills ... a month. Read more


 
Make a difference for animals...