Opinion

shadow

Browse this collection of opinion pieces from various global information sources, and gain an insight into how people from all walks of life are thinking about, and acting upon, animal issues.

The views expressed in these opinion pieces do not necessarily reflect the views of Animals Australia.


Animal "euthanasia" is too often slaughter
On JUL 23, 2015

I've been long interested in how the word "euthanasia" is misused in different branches of science and in venues where nonhuman animals (animals) are killed because they're no longer needed. Read more

Compassionate Bedrooms and Vegan Living
By DYLAN KENDALL on JUL 15, 2015

How to feather your nest -- without using feathers! Read more

Pets are not for profit. Grazia should be ashamed to suggest otherwise.
Pets are not for profit. Grazia should be ashamed to suggest otherwise.
By BEVERLEY CUDDY on JUL 13, 2015

Home breeding was presented by the magazine as a cool and quick way to monetise your beloved dog or cat. Our animal rescue system is struggling as it is. Read more

The Bacon Tax
By LAURA SECORUN PALET on JUL 9, 2015

That juicy hamburger costs much more than you’re paying for it. Read more

Our outrage over China's Yulin dog meat festival exposes a disgusting hypocrisy
By NATHAN RUNKLE on JUN 29, 2015

Two simultaneous celebrations took place in recent weeks during which millions of animals were grilled, slathered in sauce and served with alcohol. Read more

Mourn the dog, pass the ham sambo
By SAM DE BRITO on JUN 17, 2015

While you have to applaud British comedian Ricky Gervais for his outspoken stance on animal cruelty, which this week saw him tweet pictures of dogs being blowtorched and boiled in China, the outrage he spurs about the treatment of non-human species contains a predictable caveat: they need to be cute. Read more

NZ needs to stop putting animals in floating prisons
NZ needs to stop putting animals in floating prisons
By CATRIONA MACLENNAN on JUN 12, 2015

What is the point of animal protection laws when they are so ineffective at ensuring animal welfare? Read more

Meat eaters justify diet using 'Four Ns': natural, necessary, normal, nice
By PAULA GOODYER on JUN 1, 2015

It's called the meat paradox: the fact that we can snuggle up to some animals -- and stick others on the end of our fork. Read more

It's time to wean ourselves off the fairytale version of farming
By GEORGE MONBIOT on MAY 29, 2015

Children’s tales bear no resemblance to the cruelty of most modern farms, yet this image enables us to turn a blind eye to animal welfare and is exploited by the industry for profit -- as Kerrygold Dairy's recent Guardian advertorial shows. Read more

Faeces, bacteria, toxins: welcome to the chicken farm
By GEORGE MONBIOT on MAY 20, 2015

Whether it’s welfare standards, environmental impact or the emerging threat to human health, we’ve got to change our insatiable greed for this meat Read more

Why exporting live cattle to the United States is a bad idea
Why exporting live cattle to the United States is a bad idea
By CLIVE PHILLIPS on MAY 19, 2015

A typical shipping journey would take 20-25 days to reach the United States. During the journey, ammonia from the animals' accumulating faeces and urine will gradually rise in the atmosphere, causing cattle to cry, cough and develop lung and eye infections. It is hard to imagine that the American public would willingly accept beef from animals that have suffered this much. Read more

Political commitment needed to eliminate puppy farms in NSW
Political commitment needed to eliminate puppy farms in NSW
By THE SYDNEY MORNING HERALD - EDITORIAL on MAY 9, 2015

The puppy farm phenomenon is a dark stain on our state's animal welfare record. Read more

Australia failing to protect non-human primates in research
Australia failing to protect non-human primates in research
By MONIKA MERKES on MAY 7, 2015

The National Health and Medical Research Council’s code on animal use requires researchers to minimise harm, pain and distress -- but doesn’t provide guidance on how to do it. Read more

A rescuer
A rescuer's heartbreaking account of life inside a puppy factory and why the NSW government must ban the cruel practice now
By DEBRA TRANTER on MAY 3, 2015

Through witnessing the brutality and cruelty inside puppy factories over a 20-year period, I have journeyed into the darkest places I could ever have imagined. Read more

Factory farms are hotbeds for viruses
Factory farms are hotbeds for viruses
On APR 22, 2015

In nature, disease-causing strains of avian influenza rarely spread far because the birds sicken and die before they can fly to spread it to others. However, in unnatural, intensive agricultural systems, pathogens are more easily able to evolve from mild strains to dangerous, highly pathogenic forms. Read more

While the superbug crisis grows, the meat industry is using more human antibiotics than ever
By LINDSAY ABRAMS on APR 11, 2015

Not nearly enough is being done to combat factory farms' threat to human medicine. Read more

Animal Welfare Debate Is Alive and Well in Vietnam
By JILL ROBINSON on APR 5, 2015

Coverage in the Vietnamese media makes one thing abundantly clear -- the general public in Vietnam is more engaged in animal welfare than ever before. Read more

The ethics of pet food: Why are we are so selective in how we show animals our love?
By JULIAN BAGGINI on MAR 31, 2015

For a nation of animal lovers, we are surprisingly unconcerned about the food we give our pets. Julian Baggini reports on why there is such a lack of ethical options and the hypocrisy at the heart of the way we show animals love. Read more

German supermarket chain ups the ante on animal welfare
German supermarket chain ups the ante on animal welfare
On MAR 17, 2015

A German supermarket chain has introduced a wide-ranging supply-chain policy on animal welfare that may be the most progressive in the world. Sadly, Australia's supermarket chains are far behind in introducing such measures, despite their positive impact on public health. Read more

Privacy can be the enemy of change
On MAR 11, 2015

The greyhound industry is reeling. It is reeling from revelations that some trainers have been using live bait to train their dogs. The public is understandably up in arms, even in shock. Read more

Animal welfare laws need more bite to stamp out live baiting
Animal welfare laws need more bite to stamp out live baiting
On MAR 3, 2015

The Four Corners exposé has highlighted the inadequacy of animal-welfare enforcement by both the greyhound racing industry and the government. Read more


 
Make a difference for animals...