Opinion

shadow

Browse this collection of opinion pieces from various global information sources, and gain an insight into how people from all walks of life are thinking about, and acting upon, animal issues.

The views expressed in these opinion pieces do not necessarily reflect the views of Animals Australia.


We need to hold animal exporters to account
By ASHLEY FRUNO, PETA AUSTRALIA ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR OF CAMPAIGNS on SEP 6, 2017

Despite regular breaches of Australian live-export laws in multiple countries – resulting in the suffering of hundreds of thousands of animals – not one export company has been prosecuted on charges of cruelty to animals. Read more

Looking after pets in emergencies: Why having a plan can be vital
Looking after pets in emergencies: Why having a plan can be vital
By MEL TAYLOR, MACQUARIE UNIVERSITY on SEP 6, 2017

If you've been following media coverage of the post-hurricane flooding in Texas during the last couple of weeks, you will have seen many images and accounts of people evacuating with their pets. Read more

Opinion: Australia should ban cage eggs
By KRISTA PRICE on AUG 22, 2017

THE recent fuss over free range eggs is well warranted – how the eggs taste is not the point, rather the conditions under which they are produced. Read more

Never mind CCTV in slaugherhouses, we need to end the meat and dairy industry altogether
By YAS NECATI on AUG 14, 2017

It isn’t just horrific for the animals, producing meat also has a huge effect on the environment and health consequences to humans – even vegans. Read more

Land clearing isn’t just about trees - it’s an animal welfare issue too
By HUGH FINN - LECTURER, CURTIN UNIVERSITY on JUL 5, 2017

Land clearing harms animals in two basic ways. First, they may be killed or injured when native vegetation is removed, typically through the use of earth-moving machinery. Second, the removal of native vegetation puts animals in harm’s way. Read more

Chickens suffer just as Bali’s dogs do
By ASHLEY FRUNO on JUN 20, 2017

AUSTRALIANS are entitled to be angry and disgusted by reports that tourists in Bali are routinely being fed dog meat. Read more

Barack Obama on food and climate change: ‘We can still act and it won’t be too late’
Barack Obama on food and climate change: ‘We can still act and it won’t be too late’
By BARACK OBAMA on JUN 7, 2017

The former president addresses the greatest challenges facing the world, and what we can do about them. Read more

Why vegan is the fastest growing food movement in the world
Why vegan is the fastest growing food movement in the world
By MATT PRESTON, DELICIOUS on MAY 28, 2017

As the latest global food trend, plant-based dining is being taken very serious by chefs around the world. Read more

Health Leaders Must Focus on the Threats From Factory Farms
Health Leaders Must Focus on the Threats From Factory Farms
By SCOTT WEATHERS, SOPHIE HERMANNS AND MARK BITTMAN on MAY 21, 2017

This week, the World Health Organization — which works globally to improve human health — will meet in Geneva to select a new director general. We have a mission for that leader: take on factory farms, a major threat to health and the environment. Read more

Why meat eaters should think much more about soil
By JOHN SAUVEN on MAY 17, 2017

If over-grazing continues to cause soil degradation, we won’t be able to feed people in the future. Read more

Dairy is scary. The public are waking up to the darkest part of farming
Dairy is scary. The public are waking up to the darkest part of farming
By CHAS NEWKEY-BURDEN on MAR 30, 2017

The photo of calves in cramped pens will shock many, and with so many non-dairy alternatives now, consumers have a choice. Read more

Cruelty for your entertainment and their profit: Don
Cruelty for your entertainment and their profit: Don't buy into it
By JORDAN SOSNOWSKI on FEB 23, 2017

Australia’s two remaining marine parks make money from the suffering of innocent animals. Read more

Ringling Bros. Circus shutdown is a distraction from the real issue: Eating animals
By GARY L. FRANCIONE & ANNA CHARLTON on FEB 3, 2017

Ringling’s owners made a business decision that had nothing to do with what animal advocates said or did. Instead, executives made it clear the shows the circus produced were not viable as a business model. And closing the circus does nothing to change our institutions of animal use – most importantly, the fact that we eat animals. As scholars of animals rights and advocates for veganism as a moral imperative, we do not view it as a victory. Read more

Poultry industry plays chicken with consumers
By MATTHEW PRESCOTT on FEB 1, 2017

The chicken industry seems to have its head buried in the sand. Read more

Free range is a con. There’s no such thing as an ethical egg.
By CHAS NEWKEY-BURDEN on JAN 30, 2017

Slapping ‘free range’ on a box of eggs simply hides the catalogue of routine horrors that are allowed under this reassuring banner. Read more

I gave up dairy for 3 months, and it completely transformed my body
I gave up dairy for 3 months, and it completely transformed my body
On JAN 27, 2017

What happens to your body when you ditch the dairy. Read more

This technology is about to smash through every factory farm
This technology is about to smash through every factory farm's closed doors
By WAYNE HSIUNG on JAN 19, 2017

The goal of activists and storytellers since time immemorial has been to put ordinary people in another person’s shoes. Read more

"I quit fishing after an encounter off Perth made me realise I was an arsehole"
"I quit fishing after an encounter off Perth made me realise I was an arsehole"
By DAN MAIO on JAN 15, 2017

I used to trick animals on to sharpened hooks. Sometimes, I’d use two or three just to make sure they couldn’t get away. Read more

An experiment with no meat, no dairy, no eggs
By DUNCAN FINE on JAN 12, 2017

Recently, a friend of mine convinced me to go vegan for a month. Read more

Why you should turn vegan in 2017
Why you should turn vegan in 2017
By HEATHER MOORE on JAN 10, 2017

It's time for a vegan revolution. I mean, resolution. Read more


 
Make a difference for animals...

www.animalsaustralia.org